Solid Waste Management Authority

Board Overview

The Newton County landfill is operated by the Newton County Solid Waste Management Authority (SWMA). The SWMA consists of a seven-member board of directors which includes the Chairman of the Newton County Board of Commissioners, two Newton County Commissioners and four citizens selected by the board of commissioners. 

For more information on the SWMA, the authority's secretary, Laurie Riley, can be reached at 678-625-5090.


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of every month
  • The authority may periodically schedule special called meetings. All meetings are open to the public.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Trash Convenience & Recycling Centers

Newton County's six Convenience Centers are open the following hours:

Tuesday through Friday
Noon to 7 p.m.

9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

View more on Trash Convenience Centers.